Maintenance Mode

Go to System → Settings → System

Maintenance mode is for preventing any customers other than administrators from using the site while maintenance is taking place.
When administrator users attempt to access a store in maintenance mode, they obtain a message informing them that the site is in maintenance mode at the top of the site.